top of page

This picture was taken just days after finding out I was going to lose my baby. I was 10 weeks pregnant. What you see me doing here, praying in the arms of a friend, this is how I survived the pain of being told my precious baby was going to be taken from me. I could have accepted my fate and given into my grief, but instead, I chose to pray for a miracle.


I don’t know what faith you are, or how you talk to God, but I can wholeheartedly say that some of my best prayers have been prayed at the alter of a church. Perhaps this picture seems unconventional to you, in the floor of a sanctuary crying in front of the surrounding congregation, in the arms of a friend who was praying, crying and interceding just as hard as I was, but this, this is where I drew my strength.


I wish I could say our prayers were answered, but just a few short days later I lost my baby. I can’t explain to you why sometimes we must endure such heartache, it certainly seems so unfair, but I can tell you that how you choose to respond to the heartache, makes all the difference. It is ok to be broken, but if you ever expect to heal, you must be gracefully broken. Don’t wallow in your pain, refusing to get back up, instead allow God’s abundant grace to encompass you, filling you with every ounce of hope you need for a better tomorrow.


Whether the grief you feel today is due to loss, or just the circumstances of life, you do not have to suffer alone. Run into the arms of God my dear friend. Get there, and stay there.


Be gracefully broken.


But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me. 1 Corinthians‬ ‭15:10‬




Comments


bottom of page