top of page

There are two types of tired, one that requires rest, and one that requires peace.” I read this quote on another page this morning and it truly spoke to me.


There was a time in my life when peace was hard to come by. My husband, who already was working 24 hour shifts as a fireman, had started working out of town on his “off” days. We had just moved to a new town and were still pretty new at our church. We had broken away from a lot of our “old” friends and were trying to begin a new chapter on a clean slate. In all of the change, though it was with good intention, I began to struggle emotionally. The smallest things began to affect me mentally and before I knew it I couldn’t even so much as drop a fork without getting angry or crying. Everything thing that went wrong, be it small or large, overwhelmed my mind and emotions. I was staying stressed out because I was struggling to find joy in the everyday. It started affecting how I treated my husband and child. I would turn my phone on silent because I couldn’t bare for someone to add, unknowingly, to my stress.


One day, after one too many emotional breakdowns, I fell to my knees and begged God for help. Not to change my circumstances or surroundings, but to change me. I was the problem and I was tired of it! I was tired of being unhappy because I couldn’t control my own emotions and I needed help. Not from a doctor, not from friends, not from a counselor, but from the One person who could transform me inwardly.


So I began to pray. Not just at bedtime or at church, but every time I got upset. Every time I felt angry. Every time I felt overwhelmed. While I swept, while I washed the dishes, while I did the laundry, I prayed. Day by day I started noticing a change and prayer by prayer I began to change. Slowly but surely, Ally’s accidental food spills didn’t ruin my day. A dropped fork no longer upset me. A bad day didn’t become a bad life and before I knew it I had been transformed. I had found my peace through prayer and my “bad” life suddenly wasn’t so bad.




Commentaires


bottom of page